Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

The Book is Out!

I don’t plan to use this blog much to push my own accomplishments, but I cannot deny excitement at receiving my copy today of my first book. It’s called A Guide to the U.S. Black Freedom Movement: 1945-1970 and is published by the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America (see link on this blog). It includes “The Struggle for Racial Justice in Canada and the United States: A Timeline. “It sells for $10 U.S. or $12. Canadian. I wrote it is a resource for school teachers, youth ministers, parents and others to counteract the 30-second soundbite treatments of the movement in popular media. You know the image: Rosa Park sat down on a bus, the next day Dr. King gave the “I Have a Dream” speech and POOF!–segregation was destroyed. This is not a technical history, but has lots of references to major histories on the movement. It does try to list many of the major organizations, leaders, and events–but the actual movement included thousands of people whose names we will never know, but whose courage serves us all.

I am hoping that this will be the first of several guides to popular social movements published by the BPFNA and that the churches use them as resources for the cultural amnesia that so affects us.

To order, go to http://www.bpfna.org/ All proceeds go to the work of the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America.

June 23, 2006 - Posted by | books, race, Religious Social Criticism, social history

3 Comments

  1. Again, congratulations, Michael. I’m very anxious to get my hands on it.

    Comment by Dan Trabue | June 24, 2006

  2. Self promotion of good work is not necessarily a bad thing. I will check it out.

    Comment by Matthew61 | June 24, 2006

  3. Thanks for the votes of confidence.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | June 24, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

