Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Rabbi Lynne Gottlieb


Rabbi Lynne Gottlieb, one of the first female rabbis in Judaism, used “theatre of the oppressed” to share with the Baptist Peace Fellowship. She is the founder of the Muslim-Jewish Peace Walks and on the board of Jewish Voice for Peace. At peace camp, she spent quite a bit of time working with the children–to interesting effect. My youngest daughter, Miriam (7), discovered that Miriam is R. Gottlieb’s Hebrew name. R. Gottlieb showed my Miriam how to write her name in Hebrew and now my youngest has announced her intention of becoming a rabbi. Molly (11), her older sister, bossily told my Miriam that she couldn’t become a rabbi because she wasn’t Jewish. Says my Miriam, “I believe in God and the 10 Commandments and have the same name as Rabbi Miriam and Moses’ sister, the prophet. Jesus was Jewish. What’s the problem?” Now she’s asking for Hebrew lessons and about how Gentiles become Jewish. Have I ever mentioned how messy this Baptist belief in liberty of conscience is?ūüôā

July 26, 2006 - Posted by | heroes, peacemaking

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

