Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Teaching Children Fair Trade

Husband/wife team Andy Loving and Susan Taylor are two of the great treasures of my church, Jeff Street Baptist Community at Liberty. (Yeah, I know, but I lost the vote for a shorter name.) Andy is seminary trained and has been involved in a number of organizations working with and for poor people. Susan has a Ph.D. in economics, but dislikes both the banking and academic scenes. They run a socially-responsible investment company called “Just Money Advisors” and, in the words of my pastor, “are always finding new ways to turn money into justice.” Here they are leading the children’s sessions at the Baptist Peace Fellowship’s “peace camp,” teaching about the Fair Trade movement and how it differs from so-called “free trade.” They taught the kids about Fair Trade Chocolate and led them to make and sell Fair Trade Brownies with the proceeds going to help the Fair Trade Chocolate movement bringing sustainable income to African farmers. They were tasty. Who knew economic justice could be fun and tasty?

July 27, 2006 - Posted by | economic justice

2 Comments

  1. Hi.
    I’m from a small town in B.C Canada and I am currently trying to make it into a Fair Trade Town. I would like to do a presentation at the local elementary school to teach kids about Fair Trade. I was just wondering if you had any advice or suggestions on how to do that.

    Comment by Alyshia | December 16, 2008

  2. I can ask Andy & Susan and get back to you.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | December 17, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

