Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

One Book Meme

There has been this meme going around the Christian blogs. I haven’t been tagged, yet, but I thought I’d tag myself before everyone I would likely tag has already had a go, which certainly seems soon as more and more of my fellow bloggers have been tagged. I’m taking the Bible off the list of personal options, but your choice if tagged.

Here it is:

1. One book that changed your life:
That could only be John Howard Yoder’s, The Politics of Jesus (1972; rev. ed., 1994)

2. One book that you’ve read more than once:

See above, but also Dietrich Bonhoeffer, The Cost of Discipleship (German, 1936; English, 1963).

3. One book you’d want on a desert island:
Only one? Hmm. This is a tough one. Gustavo Gutierrez, Teologia de la Liberacion (1971) so that by the time I get rescued, I’ll have a much deeper knowledge of the seminal text of Latin American Liberation Theology and my Spanish will be much improved as well. (If you’re not willing to work on your Spanish, the English translation is A Theology of Liberation (orig. publ., 1973; Rev. Ed., 1988) and you can find it here.)

4. One book that made you laugh:

Michael Moore, Dude, Where’s My Country? (2003). ‘Course it also made me cry, too.

5. One book that made you cry:
Dee Brown, Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee: An Indian History of the American West (1970).

6. One book that you wish had been written:
Miracle After 9/11: How the U.S.A. Renounced Violence and Worked for Global Reconciliation.

7. One book that you wish had never been written:

Hal Lindsey, The Late Great Planet Earth (1970). (Of course, it is fun to see how wrong Dispensationalism is by comparing all the places where Lindsey’s predictions were wrong and then changed without any comment in subsequent editions!)

8. One book you’re currently reading:
Mark Theissen Nation, John Howard Yoder: Mennonite Patience, Evangelical Witness, Catholic Convictions (2005). I have been waiting for this work on Yoder by Mark Nation for 5 years. This is the best secondary analysis of Yoder, from one of the top Yoder scholars.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read: James P. Byrd, The Challenges of Roger Williams: Religious Liberty, Violent Persecution, and the Bible (2002). I simply have to get to this in the near future.

10. Now tag five people: Kevin Borders; Gil Gulick; Pam BG; Amy Butler ; Will Prescott.

August 7, 2006 - Posted by | books

5 Comments

  1. Michael – Thanks for the tag. As you noted on my blog, this MAY now need to wait until after my move. Depends on what the movers tell me about whether the computer goes into the van today (Monday) or tomorrow (Tuesday).

    Thank you for telling me a bit about yourself as well. I shall reciprocate in due course. I’ve come at theology from the Lutheran, catholic, Catholic and Arminian direction. As I’ve read more about non-violence in this context – and Paul Fiddes has certainly been a very recent influence! – I’ve grown interested in anabaptist theology but I’m fairly ignorant of the genre. I am a pacifist because of my hermeneutic which is, I think, very similar to the anabaptists.

    Comment by PamBG | August 7, 2006

  2. Michael, you’ve jogged my poor memory with these: The Politics of Jesus, The Cost of Discipleship, Bury my Heart at Wounded Knee, and that horrible Hal Lindsay book. I’ve read them all… many years ago. Now they are on my list to read again along with the ones I haven’t read. Thanks for tagging yourself. Great books!!!!!

    Comment by Marty | August 7, 2006

  3. Hey Will..er Bill…tag your dad, I remember his libary!

    Comment by Marty | August 7, 2006

  4. uh..library

    Comment by Marty | August 7, 2006

  5. Maybe I’ll pick one day a week to review books on this blog.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | August 7, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

