Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

I Am Not a Heretic?

I didn’t always like the choices involved in the quiz and I think in terms of narrative and process ontologies, rather than Greek “substance” ontology, but the results didn’t really surprise me. I’ve always known I’m far more theologically orthodox than my many critics believe. Care to test yourselves?

You scored as Chalcedon compliant. You are Chalcedon compliant. Congratulations, you’re not a heretic. You believe that Jesus is truly God and truly man and like us in every respect, apart from sin. Officially approved in 451.

Chalcedon compliant
92%
Pelagianism
75%
Monophysitism
42%
Monarchianism
42%
Apollanarian
33%
Modalism
33%
Nestorianism
25%
Adoptionist
17%
Donatism
8%
Gnosticism
8%
Socinianism
8%
Albigensianism
0%
Arianism
0%
Docetism
0%

Are you a heretic?
created with QuizFarm.com

September 23, 2006 - Posted by | love of enemies, theology

4 Comments

  1. I scored as 100% Chalcedon Compliant and 42% Nestorian, which is legitimate since Calvin was often accused of having Nestorian tendencies.

    And though I didn’t like the way the questions were worded often, I think it was a pretty good quiz. I think it is interesting that you scored 75% Pelagian, which is a heresy.ūüôā

    Comment by D.R. | September 23, 2006

  2. Yeah, I think the quiz took ANY belief in free will as an indication of Pelagianism! There was no recognition of a Jacob Arminius, John Wesley, Thomas Helwys, or Dale Moody, etc. as non-Pelagian believers in free will.

    I think I only scored 92% Chalcedon compliant (What a phrase! Why not say Chalcedonian?) because I sometimes resisted the phrasing of the questions even though I knew the responses wanted.

    It wasn’t a bad quiz and kind of fun (which is why I posted it), but I’d like to see such a Quiz constructed by someone thoroughly Orthodox but more familiar with the full range of contemporary theology than this seemed to be.

    I remember Glenn Hinson, when discussing the Patristic writers saying that he thought Nestorius wasn’t truly a heretic–just a poor writer. I think I’d say the same about Pelagius. Pelagianism is a heresy, but I’m not sure Pelagius himself was a Pelagian, if you know what I mean. His major concerns were not well understood by his critics like Ambrose and Augustine.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | September 23, 2006

  3. I don’t know what the heck ANY of that has to do with being a heretic or not! I’m not even real sure what any of those questions had to do with being a Christian.

    My results:

    Chalcedon compliant 67%
    Monarchianism 50%
    Pelagianism 50%
    Monophysitism 42%

    And I don’t know what in the world any of these terms even mean.

    It would appear that test’s entire measure on whether or not you’re a christian depends on what you’re opinion of Jesus’ nature was and the nature of God. I’d suggest there’s much more to being a heretic than just those questions.

    “Even the demons” could answer most of those questions and not be heretics.

    Comment by Dan Trabue | September 24, 2006

  4. Dan, the Council of Chalcedon in 451 ended(?) centuries of debate over Christology: Coming up with a formula, phrased in the metaphysics of Greek substance categories, that tried to affirm Jesus’ preexistence, equality with the Father, and full divinity and full humanity.

    “Monarchianism,” similar to Apolloniarianism, was a heresy in which Jesus’ divinity overshadowed his humanity. Pelagianism, after a Bishop Pelagius, stressed human free will and denied that human freedom was constrained by the effects of original sin. The test is rigged on this. It interprets every belief in free will as Pelagian.

    Monophysitism is the belief that Jesus had only one nature, the divine or only one will, God’s will. It was a way of denying Jesus’ full humanity.

    Yes, even the devils could believe all these things. Heresy, unlike apostasy, is usually about false or mistaken belief rather than behavior.

    Nor is the question of heresy the same as the question of salvation. Personally, I think we’re all heretics on some matter or another and will spend part of eternity getting our theologies corrected.

    But this quiz just tested for Christology–and did so in terms that would be unfamiliar to most laity or even most people who don’t read the Church Fathers or think in Greek metaphysical terms.

    I stuck in just for fun.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | September 24, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

