Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Memories: Wedding Nostalgia

Since I couldn’t find a current picture that does justice to my beautiful bride of 17 years, I scanned in these from our wedding album. (Who says only women get all mushy nostalgic?) On the left, the brilliant, beautiful Kate, formerly Katharine E. Westmoreland, my bride. On the right is a younger, slimmer version of myself–when no gray yet touched my beard!

This was just after Kate’s graduation from seminary and about 5 months from mine. At this point, doctoral work, children, etc. were all in the future.

What a ride! How incredibly GRACED I have been to have shared this adventure called life, these callings from God , with this wonderful woman. How poor my spirit was without her–how completely unaware I was of my own poverty!

It is common for theologians to compare and contrast human loves to divine love with the former always paling in comparison. This is true, BUT—it fails completely to note what a wonderful gift from God even human love is. As the writer of the Song of Songs (Solomon or whomever, I care not!) realized–human love is incredibly powerful and itself partakes in the good purposes of God. Words fail me. I wake up every day giving thanks for such a life partner.

January 13, 2007 - Posted by | family

2 Comments

  1. Congrats Michael!

    You have the same problem I do.

    Christmas and Anniversary within a month of each other…

    Comment by Martin Tiller | January 14, 2007

  2. Martin, I solve that problem by being the Christmas Anti-Consumer!

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | January 14, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

