Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Joining the Dance

Since this is Pentecost Sunday, I’ll take a brief moment to plug a book by one of my teachers.  Molly T. Marshall, Joining the Dance: A Theology of the Spirit (Judson Press, 2003).  Baptists are not well known for writing about the Holy Spirit, especially since the rise of Pentecostalism and the Charismatic movement, both of which most Baptists perceived as threats and rivals.  Here is a pastoral theology of the Spirit and the community of God in a feminist perspective by the President and Professor of Theology, Worship, Spiritual Formation at Central Baptist Theological Seminary, in Kansas. Suitable for church studies, there is also plenty of meat here for serious scholars.

May 27, 2007 - Posted by | Holy Spirit

4 Comments

  1. Michael,

    I’ll second your plug for Molly’s book. I got to meet her a number of years ago and was quite impressed with her as a person, not just as an author.

    Comment by Bob Cornwall | May 27, 2007

  2. Bob, I agree. She was one of my two closest mentors in seminary and was part of my Ph.D. committee. She introduced me to Kate and later performed our wedding. Our oldest daughter, now about to turn 12, is named Molly in her honor.

    Did you meet her when you were a Fuller Ph.D. student? I remember she went out there to a conference on the work of James Wm. McClendon (another huge influence on me)in the early ’90s. I have kept in touch with her and her husband, Douglas Green–a retired medical doctor who was once our family physician.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | May 27, 2007

  3. Michael,

    No, I met Molly while living in Kansas. I became friends with Mike Graves, homiletics prof at Central, and he introduced me to her.

    Comment by Bob Cornwall | May 28, 2007

  4. I don’t know if I have much to add to this post, it just reminds me of my own background, as someone who attended a Baptist School and a Charismatic church as a youth.

    Comment by Chance | June 4, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

