Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

For the Love of God–and Some Theologians!

I want to reflect on the U.S. Supreme Court decisions this week and some other matters at the intersection of faith and politics, but I am very busy right now getting ready to leave town for a few days. Hopefully, I can get to that before the weekend is out.

Meanwhile, I want to draw attention to the series “For the Love of God” in which guest writers at Faith and Theology spoke about why they loved certain theologians and how those theologians impacted their love for God.  The series happened last year, but I only discovered Faith and Theology (and theology blogging) at the tail end of that series.  That discovery was a major catalyst in the evolution of Levellers from a blog that strictly focused on “religious social criticism” in a U.S. context to a broader concern with biblical and theological matters as well.  So I’m glad that Ben Myers has now indexed the series.  Part I is here and Part II is here.  Enjoy.  I hope Ben decides to run a second series since I have an entire list of other theologians who would make good subjects and I would love to write an entry as to why I love the late John Howard Yoder!

June 29, 2007 - Posted by | blogs, theology

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for pointing this series out, Michael! Quite interesting. My only complaint is that it’s highly Eurocentric. I would hope that if Ben runs a future series like this he’ll include more theologians from the two-thirds world.

    Comment by haitianministries | June 29, 2007

  2. Thanks for your comment, Haitianministries — I agree that the limitations of the series are unfortunate. But I just allowed contributors to write on their “favourite” theologians, so this was the list we ended up with.

    Comment by Ben Myers | June 29, 2007

  3. Ben, allow me to introduce you to Daniel Schweissing (Hatianministries), an American Baptist Churches’ missionary to the Caribbean who teaches at the Atlantic College and Theological Seminary in the Bahamas. Dan’s wife, Estela, was born in the Dominican Republic but of Haitian ethnicity (daughter of Haitian immigrants) and she works with the Haitian minority in the Bahamas, now. Dan has a blog, Doing Theology from the Caribbean [http://haitianministries.blogspot.com/ ], that reflects his own commitment to liberation theology, and to de-centering Eurocentric theologies. If he was invited to participate in a second series, I can promise you that he wouldn’t choose a European, North American or even Australian or New Zealander theologian for his entry!

    It would be easier, I suspect, to recruit theo-bloggers with non-Eurocentric perspectives now than when you recruited for this series. And, I must say, that I was pleasantly surprised at how many of the entries were female–especially since Cynthia Nelson was the only female blogger to contribute!

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | June 30, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

