Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Of One Blood

berea-fountain.jpgIn the middle of the Berea College campus is a fountain. Around the outside is the Bible verse that is also used in the college coat of arms (found in many places throughout the campus): Acts 17:26. God has made of one blood all nations of people.  What a guiding Scripture in our world of raging nationalisms, ethnocentric and religious violence, and racism!!

July 30, 2007 - Posted by | race

2 Comments

  1. One of my favorite verses, which first became special to me growing up one of the few white kids in a predominantly African American congregation. Thanks for sharing the photo.

    Comment by D. P. | July 30, 2007

  2. I didn’t experience being white in a mostly black church until I was an adult, Darryl, but in Junior High in Orlando, I was for a year one of only 5 students who were not either Latino or African-American. I wish I had known this verse at the time!

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | July 30, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

