Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Patterson vs. Parham on “Should Women Stay at Home?”

  News of the Weird:  Southern Baptists are still growing ever more cultlike and farther away from anything resembling mainstream Christianity–even mainstream EVANGELICAL Christianity.  The proof is in Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s new “homemaker” degree program. You can’t make this stuff up. Here is the debate on “Fox & Friends” (itself a strange world) between Dr. Paige Patterson, President of SWBTS, and Dr. Robert Parham, Executive Director of the independent Baptist Center for Ethics on “Should Women Stay at Home?” Two white males debating the role of women.  TOO weird for words.

August 13, 2007 - Posted by | Baptists, women

8 Comments

  1. Something must be wrong with the state of public school education in Texas when you can’t get a perfectly adequate Home Ec course (open to both sexes) in HIGH SCHOOL! Unless you’re planning on teaching it professionally, or becoming the next Martha Stewart (an entrepreneurial businessperson), shouldn’t that be sufficient?

    “News of the Weird” fits in more ways than one.

    Comment by D. P. | August 14, 2007

  2. No argument here, D.P. Also, I can’t figure out why only women would need a course on “the value of the child.” I think men need to value children, too–and have a worse record of doing so.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | August 14, 2007

  3. Is the homemaker degree program only open to women? I know that I didn’t learn too much in my home-ec class… Maybe I could enroll for some sort of dual degree MDiv/homemaker program; look out potlucks!

    Comment by David Reese | August 14, 2007

  4. Dear Michael,

    Even more interesting to me is that this is dubbed a debate :^) One line from each guy. Cool…

    I think a focus on the home–albeit some see it obsolete the way SWBTS chooses to demonstrate that–is a positive move.

    Grace, Michael. With that, I am…

    Peter

    Comment by peter | August 14, 2007

  5. “Is the homemaker degree program only open to women? I know that I didn’t learn too much in my home-ec class… Maybe I could enroll for some sort of dual degree MDiv/homemaker program; look out potlucks!”

    Well, then they may question your spirituality and begin “repairative therapy.”

    Comment by Dustin | August 14, 2007

  6. What on earth? I don’t have a television so I can’t watch fox, but every time I catch a clip on the internet I just stare aghast. Is this what they call news? People buy this crap?

    Comment by Aric Clark | August 14, 2007

  7. Would it have been OK if they were black?

    Comment by gaius sempronius gracchus | August 17, 2007

  8. I’d still find it strange that men should think THEY can define “the proper biblical roles” for women. But white males have a habit of trying to decide EVERYBODY’S “place.”

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | August 17, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

