Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Upcoming Blog Series: The Decisions

Okay, Gentle Readers, I asked your views and you gave them.  Between comments on the blog and emails, it appears that of the topics I suggested for upcoming series, the greatest interest was for:

Baptism, Eucharist, & Ministry,  an exposition of the World Council of Churches document of that name with commentary (including some dissent) from a committed baptistic/Believers’ Church perspective.

Creation, Evolution, and “Intelligent Design” came in second. 

So, those will be the two series I tackle in the near future–considering that I am in the middle of moving, probably at the end of this month. 

Instead of a series, I will make my planned comments on ecological virtues into a single blog post.  It didn’t get many votes, but I consider it an important topic for our age.

I still have things I think are important to say about the relation of ethics and theology, but given readers’ interest-level, I will postpone that until the new year. 

And, yes, Bob Cornwall, I will take the question of Baptist identity closer to 2009, when this movement to which I belong turns 400.

I like profiling champions of nonviolence so much that I will do so–but will space them out much more than I had envisioned if that choice came in close to the top (it didn’t). I’ll postpone the first such profile until the beginning of Advent thanks to less reader interest than expected.

Since the question of Christians and education received not a single vote, I will simply bow to readers’ lack of interest and not write on that at all.  I find the subject fascinating, but apparently no one else does.  

Maybe we’ll do this again sometime.  Thanks for playing, friends.

October 12, 2007 - Posted by | blogs

5 Comments

  1. I’ve tried three times to post a comment on the next post and none have shown up. Is this working?

    Comment by Dan Trabue | October 12, 2007

  2. It’s working. Your comment is here.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | October 12, 2007

  3. Waitasecond – who did the counting here? This isn’t a Diebold operation, is it? Was Katherine Harris involved?

    Comment by Dan Trabue | October 12, 2007

  4. No, I did the counting, Dan. That’s why the ecological virtues will get one post even though you and “Gus” are the only ones who voted for it.🙂

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | October 12, 2007

  5. Yay! Baptism and Eucharist won! I look forward to it.

    Comment by Aric Clark | October 12, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

