Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

New Blog

In order to keep this blog focused on theology, ethics, and the intersection of faith and progressive social change, I have decided to spin off another blog that will be more overtly political (and thus, this one will be less so).  My new blog, Kentucky Fried Politics will work in concentric circles–commenting on politics in Louisville, throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky, in the U.S., and, globally. I will solicit guest posts for many.  On that blog, I will feel free to endorse specific candidates from time to time–in a way that I believe inappropriate for this forum.  Also, although I will not hide my own pacifism, I will be working for a progressive coalition for peace and social justice–and will gladly cooperate with those who, while working for peace and justice, still believe that standing militaries and military action (war) are sometimes necessary. (I may challenge them even while cooperating with them, however.) Coalitions are formed with people who have goals in common–but don’t necessarily agree on everything.

I will, of course, interact with conservatives, reactionaries, Republicans (not always the same thing!), and critics. All are welcome.  The blog is just getting started: New features and links, etc. will be available soon. I am not certain how long I can maintain both blogs–hopefully for some time, which is why I will be inviting guest posts. But I wanted to use my blogging for organizing and activism–and this blog, Levellers, has felt more like a discussion forum–specifically a Christian one. The Body of Christ is not identified with any one Party or Movement or nation, etc.–and endorsing or working for such here would feel like wearing a campaign button to a Sunday Service–something I would never do.

Check it out and let me know what you think–as it gets started.

Update: Well, I’m getting features installed, links, etc. But I forgot how lonely a new blog is.  This blog gets so much regular traffic and great feedback (and some not so great, but that’s also cool) that I forgot just how hard it was to build a readership.  When Levellers started in January ’05, I was lucky to get anyone stopping by once a month! It was almost a year before people started coming by in any numbers and the blog got better as a result of interaction. Since I want Kentucky Fried Politics to have an impact in and beyond the Commonwealth of KY, I hope it doesn’t take that long before folks start dropping by.  Thanks to Marty, Kevin and a few others for checking it out and encouraging me.  Tell your friends.

December 15, 2007 - Posted by | blogs, U.S. politics

2 Comments

  1. Whew!

    I got quite a fright when I saw that one through a link, and I’m glad to see you haven’t abandoned this one.

    Though I probably shouldn’t complain, since only one of my blogs is linked to the Christian Peace Bloggers Ring.

    Comment by Steve | December 18, 2007

  2. Thanks for dropping by the new place, Steve. I’ll try to put in some global things from time to time–even guest posts. But, I like what has been developed at Levellers too much to give it up. Don’t worry.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | December 18, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

