Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

New Year’s Resolutions

In 2008, I resolve to:

  • Finish my personal translation and notes on Isaiah, Jeremiah, and Ezekial and decide what to do with the results of this study.
  • Finish (and find a publisher for) at least one of the books I have been writing for three years!
  • Finish my blog series on GLBT inclusion in church–which has taken too long.
  • Work hard as a volunteer for the campaign of a certain candidate for the U.S. senate (no names to be given on this blog–but see http://kyfriedpolitics.blogspot.com/) .
  • Be more patient with my wonderful daughters, who make me and their mother so proud.
  • Find new ways to spread a renewal of gospel nonviolence throughout Christian churches, especially in this nation which has been abandoning democracy for empire and has become the biggest threat to world peace since the end of the Cold War.
  • Lose weight. I’ll probably never be able to return to the trim figure I had in my twenties, but if I want to live to see grandchildren, I have got to conquer my personal contribution to the U.S. plague of obesity.
  • Try every variety of beer made by Samuel Adams and continue my samplings of lagers, ales, and stouts from around the world.  Because of the one above, I have to space this out, of course.
  • Renew some lapsed spiritual disciplines: morning prayer and meditation and journaling.
  • Be more patient with my constant critics on this blog–since I do learn from them and God clearly gives them to me as part of my sanctification.🙂

January 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment

  1. Michael,

    I think I’ll pass on making resolutions, largely because I always fail to keep them. But as far as losing weight. I don’t have to worry about trying all the beers, but I’ll need to give up some other things!

    Good luck!

    Comment by Bob Cornwall | January 1, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

