Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Blogs That Make My Day

I’m not sure I deserve it, Gentle Readers, but I have been given a blog award.  Pastor Bob Cornwall has listed me as one of 5 “Blogs That Make My Day.”  Now, I am to choose 5 and give reasons.

In no particular order, here they are:

Faith and Theology, the personal blog of Australian theologian Ben Myers, is the best theology blog on the web, period.  That would be true even if I didn’t share much of the Barthian perspective Myers holds. It would be true for the links and guest posts alone.  Ben’s connection of theology and literature and the arts are also real treats.  Since I am not currently either on a church staff, nor teaching theology and theological ethics, this blog keeps me from feeling too far out of the loop. It’s also fun. Thanks Ben, since I know it must be quite a bit of work to keep up the high standards you show.

Chrisendom, the personal blog of Chris Tilling, is a mixture of biblical studies (especially NT), contemporary theology, and offbeat humor from an Englishman living in Germany.  Tilling is a formerly VERY conservative evangelical who has moved to a center-left view–more conservative on historical matters in Scripture, and more liberationist in theological perspective.  I love his humor. I almost always find Chris to be uplifting–and that is a rare treat among blogs.

Big Daddy Weave, Aaron Weaver’s blog, is a great blog about Baptist-related matters in the U.S. (for the U.K., I look to Sean the Baptist and for Central America and the Carribbean, I check out Doing Theology From the Carribbean–I don’t have great blog insights into Baptist scenes elsewhere, yet). It’s also good on church-state matters and politics by a younger, white, centrist Baptist from Georgia, living in Texas. Since he is recovering from a car crash, Aaron could also use your prayers.

Melissa Rogers has the best blog about church-state matters and the intersection of religion and politics in the U.S. scene that is available.  Melissa is an attorney who used to work for the Baptist Joint Committee on Religious Liberty, the church-state watchdog group of 9 Baptist denominations in the U.S. She is now Visiting Professor of Religion and Public Policy at the Divinity School of Wake Forest University and the Founder and Director of WFU’s Center for Religion and Public Affairs. Many of Melissa’s posts are just news updates, themselves absolutely invaluable, but her commentaries are not to be missed, either.

Finally, I read daily A Paynehollow Visit, the personal blog of my good friend, Dan Trabue. Dan is a fellow member with me of Jeff Street Baptist Community at Liberty. Like me, he is married to a preacher woman (once there, you never go back!) and draws his faith largely from the Anabaptist strand of Baptist tradition. Dan got me into blogging. He challenges me constantly to simplify my lifestyle. His very musical and artistic family keep me from being so linear in my thinking.  He is also the MOST patient person I’ve ever met in dialogue with those who don’t just disagree, but seem to hate his guts!

Keeping this list to 5 was hard.  Other blogs that make my day include On the Homefront, the peace blog of Marty, a Baptist-turned-United Methodist in Texas whose son fought in the Iraq War. She is a tireless opponent of this and all wars, while also seeking REAL support for the returning troops and exposing the false patriotism of the Right.  Dr. Bruce Prescott’s personal blog, Mainstream Baptist, attempts to articulate a non-fundamentalist Baptist perspective in Oklahoma, to combat fundamentalism and both the religious and political right, but especially that portion of the Right which advocates some form of theocracy or near-theocracy.  Texas in Africa is the personal blog of a Ph.D. student in political science who teaches at the University of Texas in Austin and who is a U.S. expert on (and frequent visitor to) sub-Saharan Africa. She blogs on Baptists, Africa, human rights, football, politics and much else and has a great sense of humor.  I tend to miss some of her pop-culture references because of a generational gap, but I always find her blog fun and interesting and uplifting.  Thom Stark, a seminary student in the Stone-Campbell tradition (broadly baptist, but not Baptist) who is a pacifist in the Yoder-Hauerwas tradition with a strong interest in liberation theology, has the wonderful blog, Semper Reformanda, which reminds us that the work of reformation is never finished.  Earth as it is in Heaven is not updated often enough, but is a great theology and faith-based social criticism blog by my friend, Mike Broadway. Mike is a fellow pacifist and member of the Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America and he, a white Southerner from Texas, teaches theology and ethics at Shaw University Divinity School, a predominantly African-American institution. He and his family are members in a National Baptist (African-American) congregation.  The blog reflects his Anabaptist connections and his strong emphasis on racial justice and reconciliation.  For other great blogs, too many to name, see my blog roll.

For the 5 whom I have named as “Blogs That Make My Day,” here is your task:

1) Write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think and/or make your day.
2) Acknowledge the post of the award giver (Thanks very much, Bob!).
3) Tell the award winners that they have won by commenting on their blogs with the news!

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | blogs

5 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for your kind words, Michael!

    Comment by Chris Tilling | June 2, 2008

  2. Thanks for your very kind words, Michael — I really appreciate it!

    Incidentally, I liked your comment: “Since I am not currently either on a church staff, nor teaching theology and theological ethics, this blog keeps me from feeling too far out of the loop.” I’m in exactly the same situation (since I’m neither a pastor nor theology teacher), so the blog also helps me to feel “not too far out of the loop”. It’s very therapeutic!

    Comment by Ben Myers | June 2, 2008

  3. Yes you deserve it Michael. Just look at that cluster map. You’re making the days of a lot of folks.

    Thanks for the plug. I’m honored.

    Comment by Marty | June 3, 2008

  4. Thank you kindly.

    Is this like the Nobel, with a little financial somethin-somethin’ on the backside?

    Comment by Dan Trabue | June 3, 2008

  5. Right, Dan–like I could afford any kind of monetary award! I am trying to figure out how I can swing the finances to go to that National Summit on Torture in November. I think I can bunk with friends in Atlanta, now to swing the $150 registration fee, the bus ride, and meals.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | June 3, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

