Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Index of Posts on Theological Mentors

Since I have now been blogging long enough that more than 100,000 people have visited this site (something I still find amazing), I am going to create some indices of popular series I have done for the benefit of new readers. This will enable me to refocus for new efforts, such as continuing my case for GLBT inclusion in churches (with a single-standard sexual ethic), etc. This is stock-taking.

Realizing that we all stand in particular traditions, I have written a fairly popular series on my theological mentors–one that I may soon resume.

  1. The late Mennonite theologian John Howard Yoder (1927-1997).
  2. Baptist ethicist and peacemaker, Glen H. Stassen (1936-).
  3. My eldest daughter’s namesake, Baptist theologian and seminary president, Molly T. Marshall.
  4. Baptist historian and mystic, E. Glenn Hinson.
  5. The late Baptist theologian James Wm. McClendon, Jr. (1924-2000).
  6. The late philosopher and French Reformed Christian Paul Ricoeur (1913-2005).
  7. Baptist philosophical theologian Dan R. Stiver.

Well, this is obviously incomplete and I clearly haven’t added to it recently. I need to write posts on my college NT. prof., Craig Blomberg, on George R. Beasley-Murray, Clarence Jordan, Henlee Barnette, Dorothy Day, Letty Russell, Paul Fiddes, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Martin Luther King, Jr., J. Deotis Roberts, Muriel Lester, Walter Brueggemann, Daniel Berrigan, S.J., & William Stringfellow. At least.  (I have written on some of these, but not as personal mentors.) I hope people continue to enjoy this series.

July 14, 2008 - Posted by | heroes, mentors, theology, tradition

7 Comments

  1. I was wondering–your bio of Glen Stassen indicates that he became a pacifist in 2000. Has he also come to agree with you on the need to be “welcoming and affirming” of GLBT?

    Thank you.

    Comment by Jennifer | July 14, 2008

  2. Hmm, Jennifer, that is hard to say. The last time I checked, Stassen was still “welcoming but NOT affirming.” But he was wrestling with new information–including new biblical studies he had discovered that recast some questions AND he had some new conversations with gay and lesbian friends who “came out” to him. So, the truth is, I don’t really know where he stands, now.

    I have been fortunate enough to have mentors who never insisted that their students agree on every point. Glen would have been listed as one of my mentors, for instance, even if he NEVER had come to call himself a pacifist and will be even if he never agrees with me on GLBT inclusion. Glen never hesitates to challenge his students–and loves it when they reciprocate and challenge HIM.

    He did tell me that in the next edition of the book, Kingdom Ethics, co-written with David P. Gushee, he wants to revise the section on sexual ethics, especially on “homosexuality” in such a way that shows that Christians equally committed to the Rule of God come to different conclusions. (If he were to radically revise this section, he’d have to seek a new publisher and Dave Gushee would have to write a dissent.) I think Glen is still “on pilgrimage” here. Like many of us, his heart pulls in one direction and his loyalty to a Christocentric view of biblical authority pulls in another–which is why I am excited by the new biblical studies with which he is wrestling.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | July 14, 2008

  3. […] of Posts on Theological Dialogue Partners Theological Mentors (Index to […]

    Pingback by Index of Posts on Theological Dialogue Partners « Levellers | July 28, 2008

  4. […] added to the series on mentors in some time, so let me correct that, now.  (Here is the index to the […]

    Pingback by Theological Mentors 6: Philosopher Paul Ricoeur (1913-2005) « Levellers | April 2, 2009

  5. […] #7: Dan R. Stiver  It’s been awhile since I last added to this series on Theological Mentors.  As usual, Danny cannot be held responsible for my theological errors–since that’s […]

    Pingback by Mentors #7: Dan R. Stiver « Levellers | August 9, 2009

  6. […] on pacifism and the Bible, but here is a small interlude.  I have on this blog tried to describe major people who have influenced my life and thought, both from within my Baptist tradition, and from other […]

    Pingback by Peace Church Influences on My Thought: Mennonites, Brethren, Quakers « Levellers | October 15, 2009

  7. Fantastic, I did not know about this topic until now. Cheers!

    Comment by jenTrearf | November 25, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

