Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Happy Channukah

To all my Jewish friends, Happy Channukah beginning today at sundown.  May G-D bless you during this Festival of Lights.

In Israel, the menorahs are all outside as the commandment requires. For my non-Jewish readers (the majority of readers, I assume), the reason that Jews began lighting menorahs inside homes was because of persecution in the Diaspora. Sadly, once Christianity became the official religion of the Roman Empire (an imperial religion is a distortion of Christianity of heretical proportions–now lasting 16 centuries), much of that persecution came from Christians. 

So, I always see Channukah as a reminder of the repentance that the majority of churches still need–repentance from anti-semitism and anti-Jewish supercessionist theologies.  Even as we prepare for Christmas this last Sunday of Advent, I hope we will ask G-D for forgiveness for Christian anti-Judaic heretical theologies and centuries of anti-Semitic persecution and work to correct these things in our lives and churches. I hope one day all menorahs can be outside the houses because Jews all over the world will have no fear of open celebration.  Amen.

December 21, 2008 - Posted by | Judaism

2 Comments

  1. Hey, I was wondering why you type “G-D” when talking about God. I’m guessing it’s the some reason that Jews do not speak the name of God? But they still write it, do they not (as in the Torah, but when reading what is written, pronounce it “Adonai”)? Just curious.

    Also, adding to the curiosity, is the fact that a lot of people may read “G-D” and think of the curse word, as I did. But that may be due to my fallibleness rather than the inappropriateness of the term.

    Comment by Chris Huff | December 21, 2008

  2. Chris,
    I usually write “God.” But I was reaching out to Jewish readers. Most Jews will not write any vowels associated with God–so that they do not risk profaning the Divine Name. So, for this post on Channukah, I followed the Jewish custom.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | December 22, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

