Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Proud Papa–But Nervous!

Yesterday, I put my 13 year old daughter, Molly, on an airplane bound for France and Spain.  Yes, she will be chaparoned–It’s an educational tour with her Spanish Club and the French Club and, in addition to the teacher, there are 3 other responsible adults.  Yes, she earned most of the money herself, working for over a year to get to this point (although many people in our church essentially overpaid her for odd jobs).  Yes, I am excited for her.

But, still, I am nervous.  A 13 year old girl flying without family to Europe? What was I thinking? And she’s tall, which makes her look older than she  is and that invites trouble.  ARRGH! She won’t be back until 04 April.

Molly wants to work for the United Nations, so I am glad she is getting a stamp on her passport long before I did. Sure,  I changed my mind repeatedly on what I wanted to do and she may, too, but I am proud to have the kind of kid who even THINKS about working for peace, human rights, development, etc by dedicating herself to global public service.  She has been in the Model UN and in the mock KY Legislature–all in Middle School. 

Next year, she starts high school. Because of her 4.0 GPA, high test scores, teacher recommendations, and after school public service,  she has won admission to the International  Baccalaureate program at Atherton High School, a magnet program.  The IB program (which kicks in the last 2 years of high school, building on Advanced Placement classes in Frosh and Sophomore years) is equivalent to two years of college work and is recognized by university programs all over the world.  There are only 15 high schools nationwide which offer it.  I know the trip to France (Versailles and Paris) and Spain (Madrid and Barcelona) will contribute greatly to her education and confidence.

But I’m still nervous.

March 25, 2009 - Posted by | family

6 Comments

  1. What a great opportunity! I’ll be praying for you, her and your wife!

    Comment by drgstohl | March 25, 2009

  2. Thanks! Younger sister, Miriam, is both jealous and missing Molly already, so send a few prayers her way if you can spare them.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | March 25, 2009

  3. I am sure that Molly will enjoy and benefit from the experience…Proud papas are always nervous when it comes to their daughters…:-)

    Comment by Paul | March 25, 2009

  4. Sounds like you and momma did something right with that young lady. You have reason to be proud of her.

    Comment by peacetrain5 | March 26, 2009

  5. Congrats. France and Spain must be really interesting destinations, mostly for someone from USA.

    Comment by mountainguy | March 26, 2009

  6. Great post. Let your daughter know that the IB program is a fantastic choice. I am in the IB program at Thornton High School in Colorado. Our work is extremely challenging. I discuss the program on my blog (along with other Gen-Y issues). I’d love it if your daughter would stop by and comment. She can get a feel for how crazy and fulfilling her life will be.

    My Blog is:
    http://www.genyblogger.com/

    I’m also attending the National Student Leadership Conference on International Diplomacy this summer and will be writing about the experience.

    http://www.nslcleaders.org/international-diplomacy.html

    Comment by Chloe Mays | March 26, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

