Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

My Apologies to Progressives, Women, and Decent People in General

Why, because I supported a scum-bag in John Edwards last year!  In my defense, I didn’t know he was a scum-bag. I didn’t know he treated his wife like trash, cheating on her when she was in the hospital for cancer.  I did not know he would father a child by his mistress and spend months denying it. I didn’t know he would endanger Democrats’ chances at the White House by running for president when he knew this was out there waiting to be discovered.

Look, if I am going to call Gov. Mark Sanford (R-SC) an anti-woman, cheating, louse of a husband (and I am), if I am going to call Sen. John Ensign (R-NV), an anti-woman, cheating, louse of a husband (and I am), I must say the same about former Sen. John Edwards (D-NC). Slime and scum.

Yes, I supported him because of his economic populism and peace stances which were stronger than both Clinton and Obama. But MAN did I show poor character judgment.  So, to all women, progressives, Democrats and just people concerned about slimy scumbags, I’m sorry.  I hope I won’t be fooled again.

UPDATE:  Thanks for the kinds words in the comments, but I keep thinking I should have detected such large character flaws. After all, I didn’t like Edwards in ’04. I thought he was too slick and a poor running mate to Kerry. (How do you lose a VP debate to Dick Cheney?)  I had worked on Dennis’ Kucinich’s campaign in ’04, hoping that he would push the debate and push even Howard Dean in a more progressive direction. Then the Kucinich campaign went nowhere and Dean self-destructed after Iowa. We Dems were stuck with Kerry–and Edwards. But I thought Edwards the most improved candidate in 4 years: championing the poor and the environment and peace and human rights–and repenting his ’02 vote to authorize the war in Iraq.  He should have repented his scumbag adultery!

August 13, 2009 - Posted by | U.S. politics

7 Comments

  1. Michael, I voted for President Obama and Mark Sanford. I took Sanford at his word-family values et cetera. He was a hypocrite and should have resigned his office. No one is perfect so don’t be so hard on yourself friend…

    Comment by Paul | August 13, 2009

  2. You’ve got nothing on me, Michael. My worst political judgment was briefly supporting Wesley Clark in 2004. Yes, I know what you’re thinking — how could he? Well, at the time I thought maybe he could challenge America’s runaway militarism from within sort of like Eisenhower. Not my best moment. Nor was the campaign his.

    Comment by Anthony | August 14, 2009

  3. I don’t think we can put total faith in any politician. They are often ego driven and their values are often misplaced. They say what they need to say to get ahead. There are exceptions, of course, but don’t be shocked when the worst happens.

    Comment by Ralph | August 14, 2009

  4. So true. The only one who has continued to prove to be of highest moral caliber in my lifetime is Jimmy Carter. I sometimes disagreed with his policies, especially domestic, but I always admired his character.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | August 14, 2009

  5. I agree completely. He is one of the exceptions.

    Comment by Ralph | August 14, 2009

  6. I give “jimmy” high marks on moral courage. As a President- below average.

    Comment by Paul | August 15, 2009

  7. He wasn’t the most effective president, that’s for sure. But he’s been the best EX-president in my lifetime.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | August 15, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

