Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

Escaping Fundamentalism: One Theologian’s Story

In a series of short essays for EthicsDaily.com, Dr. Bruce Prescott, of the Mainstream Baptists Network, who hosts the radio show “Religious Talk” in Oklahoma, shares the events that became steps leading him away from the shackles of fundamentalism. 

  1. A Baptist Youth Camp
  2. Slowly Realizing the Flaw with Inerrancy
  3. Breaking the “Chain-of-Command” Family Myth
  4. An Education in Fundamentalist Scholarship
  5. Not Confining God to Human Expectations.

September 13, 2009 - Posted by | fundamentalists, progressive faith, theology

5 Comments

  1. “Theologian” doesn’t apply to Bruce Prescott. He simply advertises for anti-SBC state and national political machines. He is neither a serious blogger nor academician.

    Comment by Chuck | September 14, 2009

  2. Bruce is a popularizer, and this series is deliberately written for a lay audience, but he is capable of academic discourse. He has a Ph.D. in theology from pre-fundie SWBTS.

    I don’t always agree with Bruce (I find him too individualistic–overreacting to communitarians who underplay the individual too much), but I do find him a serious person. I share a great deal of his political and ethical outlooks, though not all. I do find him, as with many in the CBF who were victims of the fundamentalist takeover of the SBC, to be too obsessed with the SBC and the Religious Right. I used to be there and found that I could not heal until I learned to ignore the SBC 90% of the time–only paying attention when their stuff spills over to affect others.

    But I find your dismissal of Bruce far too cheap, Chuck.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | September 14, 2009

  3. I appreciate that you both allow and respond to blog comments offering dissent to your views. Prescott typically censures serious challenges, thus I categorize him as simply an advertiser for all things anti-SBC.

    Comment by Chuck | September 16, 2009

  4. Well, he has been flooded with tons of hate mail. I have been tempted to limit comments but have refrained for the most part. But I have had to ban two people.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | September 16, 2009

  5. I assure you I said nothing out-of-line, just contrary to his spin.

    Comment by Chuck | September 18, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

