Levellers

Faith & Social Justice: In the spirit of Richard Overton and the 17th C. Levellers

More New Blogs

Here are some other blog updates which I will be sure to change on the blogroll this weekend and which I recommend to you all, Gentle Readers. 

First, my friend, Dan Trabue, who got me into the strange world of blogging in the first place, has changed the name of his blog, from A Payne Hollow Visit to Through the Woods. Note, however, that it keeps the old URL: http://paynehollow.blogspot.com/ .  Nothing has changed except the name–which is more in line with the accompanying quote by H.D. Thoreau.  Dan still blogs mostly about reflections on life, the Bible, and politics, from his perspective as an (ana)Baptist layperson married to a minister. He also includes much on nature (Kentucky is beautiful when the coal companies aren’t killing it), music (his entire family is incredibly  musically talented), and updates about life in  our odd little church with the long name, Jeff Street Baptist Community at Liberty. 

David May, Professor of New Testament at Central Baptist Theological Seminary in Shawnee, KS has another biblio-blog worth perusing, called, of course, NT Studies.  Recent postings include his trip to Burma/Myanmar and experiences guest-teaching at the Myanmar Institute of Theology.

LeRoy Seat, retired Chancellor of Seinan Gakuin University in Japan, retired Baptist missionary, theologian, philosopher, and ethicist, has just started a personal blog called The View From This Seat which is worth checking out. In his active retirement, Dr. Seat has published one book, Fed Up with Fundamentalism:  A Historical, Theological, and Personal Assessment of Christian Fundamentalism (Liberty, MO: 4-L Publications, 2007) and is close to finishing a sequel, The Limits of Liberalism: A Historical, Theological, and Personal Assessment of Christian Liberalism which is due to head to the publisher at the end of this month.  I find his blog refreshing, even though it’s format doesn’t allow someone without a Google account (like me) to comment.

ALSO: The Baptist Peace Fellowship of North America has launched a new group blog called, appropriately, Baptist Voices for Peace and Justice!   Check it out.

Along with Molly Marshall’s Trinitarian Soundings, which I’ve already highlighted  previously, I will be updating my blogroll to include these.  Before the weekend is out,  I think I will also give one of my irregular link-fests to good discussions happening around the blogosphere.  After that, I might actually have to  write something of note here, again.🙂

September 13, 2009 - Posted by | blogs

3 Comments

  1. Michael, thanks for mentioning my blog (and my books). I did not realize, though, that it was not possible to post comments without a Google account. That is something I need to look into, for I certainly would like for people to be able to post comments freely.

    Comment by Leroy S. | September 13, 2009

  2. It should be easy to adjust the settings on Blogger, Dr. Seat. I used to have that as the host of my blog and it was very user friendly. However, it went through a period (don’t know if this still applies) when it was very “buggy.” So, I moved my blog to WordPress, which is more stable–but some things are more difficult to do on WordPress, so there are tradeoffss. But it should be no problem to change the settings on your blog to allow anyone to comment.

    Comment by Michael Westmoreland-White | September 14, 2009

  3. Thanks, Michael. I found that I had my blog set for comments possible only for registered users, but I have now changed it to “anyone.”

    I look forward to reading your comments from time to time.

    I am considering changing my host to WordPress, but don’t know if it would be worth all the trouble. I have had no problems with or complaints about the host I am using–except for yours about making comments.

    I hope you have a good week!

    Comment by Leroy Seat | September 14, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

